Members Only  

Pi Mu

Pi Mu Crest

Pi Mu Honor Society, ΠM, was founded on December 13, 1892 at the University of Virginia by John W. Mallet, Hugh I. Cummings, Powell C. Fauntleroy, Hugh T. McGuire, E. L. Hobson, Nicholas Wothington, Rawley Penick, Charles E. Marrow, James S. Irving, Rawley Martin and Hugh H. Duke. Dr. Mallet designed the name and motto.

In November, 1921, Dave F. Dozier, Pi Delta Phi '26, of Phi Chi and J. P. Williams of Pi Mu jointly instituted unofficial negotiations for a merger of Pi Mu and Phi Chi. This conference culminated in an agreement of merger signed October 7, 1922, in Richmond, Virginia, by Albert F. Saunders for Phi Chi and J. Blair Fitts for Pi Mu. Also participating in the arrangements of merger were Dave F. Dozier, Pi Delta Phi, and William I. Owens, Theta Eta, for Phi Chi and J. P. Williams of Pi Mu. Under the arrangements of merger, the Beta Gamma of Pi Mu members were initiated into Theta Eta of Phi Chi and Alpha of Pi Mu was installed as Pi Mu (Chapter) of Phi Chi, October 14, 1922. The alumni of Pi Mu became associate members of Pi Mu of Phi Chi: they were obligated to become life subscribers to the Phi Chi QUARTERLY and membership cards of Phi Chi were issued to those who so subscribed; the associate members were granted the right to wear the badge of Phi Chi although the Pi Mu official badge was to remain "official" for all Pi Mu alumni graduating prier to July l, 1922. The Pi Mu badge was a Greek cross with skull and bones at the center. The skull was set with emerald eyes and the letters "ΠM" displayed on the horizontal arm of the cross.

Through this amalgamation Phi Chi received from Pi Mu all her interests and was free to accept any part of the ritual and constitution. Phi Chi also agreed to sponsor the Pi Mu honor system. Through this merger Phi Chi attained a chapter roll of 51 and a membership of 12,180.

The ΠΜ fraternity consisted of the following chapters before merging with ΦΧ:

Chapter Location Dates  
A University of Virginia 1892-1904; 1908-1922 Became ΠM of Phi Chi
B Medical College of Virginia 1893-1913 Joined BΓ in 1913
Γ University College of Medicine 1896-1913 Joined BΓ in 1913
Medical College of Virginia 1913-1922 Joined ΘH of Phi Chi
Δ Louisville Medical College 1904-1907 Joined ΔH in 1907
E University of Louisville 1904-1907 Joined EZ in 1907
Z University of Kentucky 1905-1907 Joined EZ in 1907
H Hospital College of Louisville 1907 Joined ΔH in 1907
ΔH Louisville Medical College 1907-1908 Joined ΔE in 1908
EZ University of Louisville 1907-1908 Joined ΔE in 1908
ΔE University of Louisville 1908-1922 Joined AA of Phi Chi
Θ Jefferson Medical College 1908-1915  
I Medical College of South Carolina 1908-1914  
K University of Tennessee 1908-1922 Joined AB of Phi Chi
Λ Vanderbilt University 1910-1922 Joined Π of Phi Chi
M Johns Hopkins University 1910-1922 Joined ΚΔ of Phi Chi
N Columbia University 1913-1922 Joined ΥΣ of Phi Chi

The Journal- annual publication begun in 1908

The crest of Pi Mu: a caduceus at the top of a shield with the latin phrase Semper Ad Honorem. and the Greek letters beneath.

The design of the Phi Chi pledge button was changed at the time of the Pi Mu merger in 1922 to honor the Pi Mu honor system. The badge of Pi Mu, a Greek cross carrying the skull and crossbones in addition to the Greek letters ΠΜ, by agreement became Phi Chi's pledge button with the substitution of a caduceus and the letters ΦΧ in silver on a field of green.

Pi Mu member achievements:
Howle Paul Williamson Γ 1898 -President of Richmond Surgical Society
McGuire Stuart B 1891 -1905-1914 President of the University College of Medicine
-1914-1925 President of Medical College of Virginia
-Member of the House of Delegates of AMA
-Chief Surgeon of the Medical College of Virginia Unit in France 1918
-American Distinguished Service Medal- WWI
-French Medaille d'Honneur- WWI
-President of Richmond Academy of Medicine
-President of Richmond Surgical Society
-President of Medical Society of Virginia
-President Tri-State Medical Association of Virginia and the Carolinas
-President of Southern Surgical and Gynecological Association
-President of the Southern Medical Association
-Author of Priciple of Surgery Published 1908
Taliaferro Edward Carrington Stanard B 1898 -President of the Staff of St. Vincent's Hospital
-President of Norfolk County Medical Society
-President of Scabord Medical Society
-1921-22 President of Virginia State Medical Society
Willis A. Murat B 1904 -President and founder of Johnston-Willis Hospital, Virginia
-President of the Richmond Academy of Medicine

This page was last updated on: March 26, 2014