Members Only  

Member Achievements

The list of achievements of Phi Chi members is long and impressive ranging from appointments and elections to positions of national importance to local medical boards as well as awards received in as diverse a group. If you or a fellow member of Phi Chi has ever been the recipient of an award or recognition, held a position of national or international interest, founded a widely recognized company or been a part of a discovery that helped shape the world of science and medicine, please email the and we will be more than happy to include you in our records.

Last Name First Name Chapter/Year Achievements
Brackett John Gordon AΦΣ 1946 -2002 Lester Brown Award for Lifetime Medical Contributions- Georgia Society of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery
Burleson Joe I 1941 -President 1973 Eastern Orthopaedic Association
-President Alabama Orthopaedic Society 1981-82
Cofer Vernon L., Jr. ΘH 1948 -1992 Laureate Award American College of Physicians
James William Duer ΛΣ 1942 -Senator Eighteenth Senatorial District-North Carolina
-President Richmond County Medical Society 1942 1948
Johnstone Robert E. A 1940 -Vice-president for Professional Affairs, American Society of Anesthesiologist
Kerr H. Harper YN 1941 -Chief Medical Director of Social Security Disability
-Medical Advisor to the Air Commando Association and the McCoskrie Foundation
-32nd degree Mason
Locker Braswell Z 1940 -President Tri-County Medical Society
-President Texas Medical Association 1972-1973
-President American Red Angus Association
-Charter member and President American Red Brangus Association
McFadden Harry, Jr. YN 1943 -Chairman of UNMC Department of Microbiology
-Twice Interim Chancellor of UNMC
Miller R. Bruce NΣ 1949 -President of the Aberdeen Hospital's Medical Staff
-President Nova Scotia Association of Radiologist
Morter Howard V. EX 1942 -President Milwaukee Oto-ophthalmic Society
Nabors G. C. E 1946 -1983 President Southwest Gynecologic Assembly
-Connie Award from Birthright of Dallas 1978-79
-President Walnut Hill Optimist Club
Nodine John YΠ 1948 -Chief of Endocrinology Hahnemann Medical College
Neel Spurgeon H., Jr. AB 1942 -Major General US Army
-One of the most decorated medical officers on active duty
-Vice-president American College of Preventive Medicine
-President Aerospace Medical Association
-Chairman Membership Committee American College of Hospital Administrators
-1951 Military Medical Essay of the Year
-Louis Livingston Seaman Award of the Association of Military Surgeons of the United States
-First Army graduate of USAF School of Aviation Medicine
-Commander 30th Medical Group Korea 1953-54
-First aviation medical officer to receive flying status
-1957 aviation medical officer badge
-1956 first chief aviation branch, medical plans and operations division
-Commander US Army hospital and surgeon, US Army Aviation Center and School 1961-1964
-Army Aviation Association of John H McClellan award 1962
-Deputy Surgeon General 1969-1973
-1967 Major Gary P Wratten Award of Association of Military Surgeons of the United States
-1973 First Commanding General of US Army Health Services Command
Nordby Eugene TB 1943 -Chairman Emeritus Wisconsin Physician Society Board
O'Connor Joseph J. Δ 1947 -President Massachusetts Medical Society 1988
-President Middlesex East District Medical Society 1973
-Chairman Department of Medicine Winchester Hospital
-President Medical Staff at Winchester Hospital
-Chairman Department of Medicine Choate Memorial Hospital
-President Medical Staff at Choate Memorial Hospital
O'Hara A. Edward YΠ 1948 -Rand Mary F. Linbach Foundation award for distinguished teaching 1966
-Honorary Member of Radiological Society of the State of Ceara, Brazil 1984
Orr Kenneth Dew P 1940 -Major General US Army
-Commanding General of Brooke Army Medical Center
-University of Idaho Alumni Hall of Fame
-Honorary Doctoral Degree at Baylor University
-Distinguished Service Medal
-Legion of Merit with 2 Oak Leaf Clusters
-Bronze Star Medal
-Army Commendation Medal with 2 Oak Leaf Clusters
-Purple Heart
-American Campaign Medal
-European-African-Middle Eastern Campaign Medal
-World War II Victory Medal
-Army of Occupation Medal (Germany and Japan)
-National Defense Service Medal with Oak Leaf Cluster
-Korean Service Medal
-United Nations Service Medal
-Armed Forces Reserve Medal
-Combat Medical Badge
-Meritorious Unit Commendation
-32nd degree Mason
Schneider Charles ΠM 1943 -US Army bronze star
Thalheim Andrew H. O 1949 -New Orleans Pediatric Society President 1989-91
Tucci Paul ΦA 1946 -NYCPM Trustee
Wartman Calvin kY 1946 -President Kitsap County Medical Society 1968
-President and Board Member Katsap Physicians Service
-1970-71 President Bremerton Central Lions Club
-President 1980-1982 Lions Sight and Hearing Foundation Board Member 1974-1988
Wells William M. Γ 1941 -1977-1978 Ohio State Medical Association
West Clark D. Ψ 1943 -1951-60 Director, Division of Physiology, Children's Hospital Research Foundation
-1960-74 Director, Division of Immunology, Children's Hospital Research Foundation
-1974-89 Director, Division of Nephrology, Children's Hospital Research Foundation
-1952-89 Director of Nephrology Clinic, Children's Hospital Medical Center
-1952-89 Director of Clinical Chemistry Laboratory, Children's Hospital Medical Center
-1947 Army Commendation Medal
-1978 Listed: Who's Who in America
-1980 Recognition Award, Cincinnati Pediatric Society
-1986 Mitchell Rubin Award for Outstanding Contributions to Pediatric Nephrology
-1995 Henry L. Barnett Award of the Nephrology Section of the American Academy of Pediatrics
-1996 Daniel C. Drake Medal, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
-1996 John P. Peters Award of the American Society of Nephrology for outstanding contributions to Nephrology
-Emeritus Physician
-Emeritus Professor of Pediatrics Cincinnati Children's Hospital
-President Society for Pediatric Research 1963-64
-President American Society of Pediatric Nephrology 1973-74

This page was last updated on: March 26, 2014