Members Only  

Member Achievements

The list of achievements of Phi Chi members is long and impressive ranging from appointments and elections to positions of national importance to local medical boards as well as awards received in as diverse a group. If you or a fellow member of Phi Chi has ever been the recipient of an award or recognition, held a position of national or international interest, founded a widely recognized company or been a part of a discovery that helped shape the world of science and medicine, please email the and we will be more than happy to include you in our records.

Last Name First Name Chapter/Year Achievements
Blankenship Rex ΘH 1928 -55th President Seaboard Medical Association
-1955-56 National Association of Psychiatric Health Systems
Bosworth David M. A 1921 -Bosworth Fracture named in his honor
-Editorial Board, Board of Trustees and Treasurer of the Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery
-President American Orthopaedic Association 1957
-Honorary D.Sc from University of Vermont 1963
-Awarded membership of Japanese Othopaedic Association
-Only foreign recipient of the Second Order of the Sacred Treasure 1968
-Chairman of AMA Orthopaedic Section 1949
-Chairman of the Orthopaedic Section of New York Academy of Medicine 1938
-Head of the Orthopaedic Section of the Medical Society of New York 1943
-Howmet Hall of Fame Award
-Director of Orthopaedic surgery at St. Luke's Hospital, New York Polyclinic Hospital, St. Vincents Hospital, Seaview Hospital, the House of St. Giles the Cripple and Richmond Borough Hospital 
-Consultant Surgeon of the New York City Police Department
Bridger Dewey Herbert X 1922 -House of Representatives for Bladen County NC
-President Pladent County Medical Society 1944
Carey Eben ΠΔΦ 1923 -Dean Marquette University Medical School 1933-1947
-Planned and directed medical exhibits Chicago World's Fair 1933-1934
-Director Chicago Museum of Science and Industry 1934-1947
-Director and professor Department of Anatomy Marquette University 1920-1947
-Dean of Students Marquette University School of Medicine 1921-1928
-Chairman, Scientific Exhibits, International Post-Graduate Medical Assembly, Milwaukee, 1931
-Medical Commission to Europe, Chicago World's Fair, summers of 1931 and 1932
-President, Milwaukee Academy of Medicine, 1940-41
-President, Medical Inter-fraternity Conference, 1939-40.
Charnock  Donald A. ΗΥ 1924 -1957 President California Medical Association
-Speaker and Vice-Speaker to House of Delegates CMA 48-55
-Delegate AMA House of Delegates
-Chairman Judicial Commission of the CMA
Clauser A.R. ΣΔ 1924 -President New Mexico Public Health Association 1942
Crowe Aldrich Clements Σ 1921 -1950 Fellow of Medical Society New Jersey President
Devane Frederick H. I 1920 -President Alabama Orthopedic Society 1975
Gerty Francis J. ΦΣ 1921 -1964 Stritch School of Medicine- Stritch Medal
-President American Psychiatric Association
-Commissioner of Mental Health for Illinois
Hall Frank M. M 1926 -Athens, Allimestone County Health Officer
-President 1955 Southern Branch American Public Health Association
-Director Alachua Country Health Department
Hamby Wallace B. OK 1928 -Honorary member American Association of Neurological Surgeons
-Cleveland Clinic's first neuosurgical resident
Chairman of the Neurosurgical Department and Director of Cleveland Clinic's training program
-Head of Neurological Surgery 1935-1960 Children's Hospital Buffalo, NY
-Head of Neurological Surgery- Cleveland Clinic
-Distinguished Service Award- University of Oklahoma 1967
-Honored guest of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons 1969
Hare Hugh F. I 1926 -1944 President New England Roentgen Ray Society
-1952 President American Radium Society
Heller R. J. Σ 1928 -Director of the National Cancer Institute
-Representative US Public Health Service 1952
Holden Raymond T. K 1928 -1987 Distinguished Service Award- AMA
-1974-1975 Chairman of the AMA
-1974 Certificate of Meritorious Service- Medical Society of DC
Jermain Louis EX 1921 -First Dean Marquette University School of Medicine
Minter Merton M. Z 1928 -Chairman Board of Regents University of Texas
-1953 President International Post-graduate Medical Assembly
-Co-Chairman Public Relations Committee 1943 Texas Medical Association
-Chairman Section on Medicine 1948 Texas Medical Association
-Chairman 1951 Texas Medical Association
-San Antonio Medical Foundation Chairman 1971-1976
-Regent 1955, Chairman of the Board 1959-1961- University of Texas
-Distinguished Alumnus Award 1970
-Golden Deeds Award of the Exchange Club of San Antonio 1977
Reisch Jacob E. YI 1928 -President 1954 American Medical Writers Association
Rouse Milford O. Ξ 1927 -President AMA 1967
-1964 Distinguished Alumni Award- Baylor
-1965 Distinguished Service Award- Southern Medical Association
-1944, 1984 Ho Din Award- Southwestern Medical Foundation
-1959 Southern Medical Association President
-Speaker House of Delegates AMA 1963-1966 Vice-speaker 1959-1963
Tresidder Donald ΣY 1927 -President Yosemite Park and Curry Company
-President Stanford University 1943-1948
-Established Stanford Research Institute
-Tresidder Peak in Yosemite National Park is named for him
Wilson Charles C. ΛΣ 1928 -1950 Secretary American Public Health Association- Governing Council- School Health
-1951 Chairman Educational Qualifications of School Physicians
-1953 William A. Howe Award Recipient- American School Health Association's Highest Honor
-Chairman Committee on Program Planning
Woodward Max R. Z 1925 -Chairman 1967 AMA Pediatric Section

This page was last updated on: March 26, 2014