Members Only  

Member Achievements

The list of achievements of Phi Chi members is long and impressive ranging from appointments and elections to positions of national importance to local medical boards as well as awards received in as diverse a group. If you or a fellow member of Phi Chi has ever been the recipient of an award or recognition, held a position of national or international interest, founded a widely recognized company or been a part of a discovery that helped shape the world of science and medicine, please email the and we will be more than happy to include you in our records.

Please select a decade to visit:

Pre-1900 1900's 1910's 1920's 1930's 1940's 1950's 1960's 1970's 1980's 1990's 2000's

A few notable members:
Abell Irvin AA 1897 -President AMA 1938
Blair John Robin ΘH 1908 -President American Medical Association
Bosworth David M. A 1921 -Bosworth Fracture named in his honor
-Awarded membership of Japanese Othopaedic Association
-Only foreign recipient of the Second Order of the Sacred Treasure 1968
Buchanan T. Drysdale ΦA 1897 -Founder of Alpha of Phi Alpha Gamma
-First President of American Board of Anesthesiology and awarded Certificate #1
Carey Eben ΠΔΦ 1923 -Dean Marquette University Medical School 1933-1947
-Dean of Students Marquette University School of Medicine 1921-1928
Fischer Stanton YP 1956 -Senior Aviation Medical Examiner for US Department of Transportation
-Johnson Space Center- consultant for astronaut selection program
Hammonds Richard L. Σ 1960 -Health Advisor to President Jimmy Carter
-Board of Councilors- The Carter Center
Jermain Louis EX 1921 -First Dean Marquette University School of Medicine
Kostmayer Hiram W. O 1909 -1942-1945 Dean Tulane School of Medicine
-1949 Honorary Doctor of Laws, Tulane
-Dean Post-graduate School of Medicine 1933-37, Tulane
McDonnald John O 1955 -First Chancellor of the Louisiana State University Medical School, Shreveport, LA
-1965-2000 Chancellor of New Orleans Medical Center
-Founding member of the American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics
-Founding member of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons
-President of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons
-2002 55th Recipient of the Roswell Park Medal
McGuire Stuart ΘH 1891 -Beta of Pi Mu
-1905-1914 President of the University College of Medicine
-1914-1925 President of Medical College of Virginia
-American Distinguished Service Medal- WWI
-French Medaille d'Honneur- WWI
-Author of Principle of Surgery Published 1908
Neel Spurgeon H., Jr. AB 1942 -Major General US Army
-One of the most decorated medical officers
-President Aerospace Medical Association
-First Army graduate of USAF School of Aviation Medicine
-First aviation medical officer to receive flying status
-Deputy Surgeon General 1969-1973
-1973 First Commanding General of US Army Health Services Command
Orr Kenneth Dew P 1940 -Major General US Army
-Honorary Doctoral Degree at Baylor University
-Distinguished Service Medal
-Legion of Merit with 2 Oak Leaf Clusters
-United Nations Service Medal
Parrott Thomas S. Σ 1964 -Emory's first pediatric urology fellow
-Teacher of the Year- Emory more times than any other faculty member
Ravdin Isadore S. M 1918 -1945 Chief of Surgery at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
-Brigadier General of the 20th General Hospital (located on the China-Burma-India theatre during World War II)
-1956 retired as a Major General in the Medical Corps, the first person on non-active military service appointed Major General
-Senior Civilian Consultant to the Surgeon General and United States Army
-Legion of Merit and the First Oak Leaf Cluster to the Legion of Merit
-Chairmanship of the Consultants Committee to the Second Army
-Presidency of the Advisory Committee to the Surgeon General of Reserve Affairs
-Civilian Consultant brought to the White House to treat President Eisenhower participating in Eisenhower's emergency operation for ileitis
-American College of Surgeons Board of Governors, the Board of Regents and Chairman of the Board or Regents, and President of the College 1960-1961
-American Cancer Society President 1962-1963
-1957 Philadelphia Award Recipient
Rohack J. James Z 1981 -164th President AMA 2009-2010
-Bush School of Government & Public Advisory Board
Ross Joseph Π 1954 -Established Vanderbilt's Emergency Medicine Department
-Established Lifeflight Air Ambulance Program, Vanderbilt
Theroit J. Roy O 1930 -Performed The First Successful Cardiovascular Resuscitation In Southern California
-One of the Attending Physicians To Gov. Huey P. Long After His Assassination
-Received The Croix De Guerre By French Gen. Charles De Gaulle
Tresidder Donald ΣY 1927 -President Stanford University 1943-1948
-Established Stanford Research Institute
Worrell Churchill F. BΔ 1917 -Member American Siberian Expedition
Wright Jonathan Ψ 1969 -First to use DHEA in private practice
-Pioneer of Natural Hormone Replacement
-Honorary Doctorate Degree Naturopathic Medicine from Bastyr University
Zook Elvin G. M 1963 -Southern Illinois University School of Medicine- President, 1978-81

This page was last updated on: March 26, 2014